Montana State Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Banquet Set for September 3 | College Sports

BOZEMAN — Montana State will induct the 2020-21 class of the Bobcat Athletics Hall of Fame on Saturday, Sept. 3, the day the MSU football team opens the 2022 season with the annual Gold Rush game.

Two Bobcat Football All-Americans, one of MSU women’s basketball all-time greats, a Bobcat men’s basketball player who helped create some of the greatest moments in program history as a player and made Currently the same as the program’s head coach, two all-athletics big names and three teams that make up Big Sky’s first football dynasty will be inducted at the brunch ceremony.

Montana State won the Big Sky Conference football championships in 1966 and 1967 under Jim Sweeney and in 1968 under Tom Parac, with College Football Hall of Fame coach Dennis Erickson quarterbacking the Cats during those years . Defensive end Devlan Geddes (1993-96) – an All-America and CoSIDA Academic All-America – and current Miami Dolphins assistant coach Mike Person (2007-10) – an All-America offensive lineman who helped lead MSU to the Big Sky 2010 title – also enter as a representative of the Bobcat football program.

People also read…

Two distance runners also join this year’s Hall of Fame class. Jeff Clem joined Lance Deal as Bobcat Track and Field’s first Outdoor All-American in 1984, when he finished 16th in the steeplechase. He also won the Big Sky steeplechase crown in 1982. Ariana Lee won four Big Sky titles, punctuated by the 2003 Big Sky Indoor Track Athlete of the Meet award. Bobcat track history at the Big Sky Outdoor Championships in Bozeman, winning the 10,000 meter championship to spur the MSU Women to their first Big Sky Outdoor Championship. She also won All-Big Sky honors twice in cross country.

Kati Burrows Mobley earned 1st team All-Big Sky honors in 2004 and 2005. She remains fourth in MSU history in points and 11th in rebounds, and helped the Bobcats win two Big Sky titles as a as a player and three as an assistant coach.

Danny Sprinkle remains third in Bobcat history with 263 career three-pointers and eighth with 1,497 career points. He was the 1996 Big Sky Tournament MVP for his historic and unforgettable 30-point performance in the title at Worthington Arena as MSU clinched the league title. It was Montana State’s most recent NCAA Tournament appearance until last spring when, as head coach, Sprinkle led the program to league regular season and tournament crowns. Sprinkle was first team All-Big Sky once and an honorable mention twice.

The induction ceremony and brunch begin at 10 a.m. September 3 in the Joseph May Ballrooms of the Strand Union Building. To order tickets, go to before August 18.