Legislative, committee primaries set for August 2 | News, Sports, Jobs

ST. CLAIRSVILLE — A new map of the state’s legislative district has been imposed in Ohio and the Belmont County Board of Elections can now complete the 2022 primary election.

The map was selected in federal court on Friday after the Ohio Supreme Court rejected several maps drawn by the Ohio Redistricting Commission.

The map chosen is the third proposed by the committee, and it has been declared unconstitutional; the federal court said he chose the best of his bad options to resolve the case.

The delays meant some races could not be decided in the May primary and another election must be held to decide the state Central Committee races for both parties and the candidates for the 95th and 96th General Assembly Districts.

“We received the official directive regarding the use of the Third District card on Saturday,” deputy director Kamron Chervenak said on Tuesday. “That’s why we’re having this special meeting on such short notice.”

“We have certified the candidates for the August 2 election,” Director Aaron Moore. “We do not have a Senate seat for this election, but we do have members of the State Central Committee for Men and Women, both Republicans and Democrats, and they are elected by Senate districts. .”

On the Democratic side, John Saseley of Athens and Karla D. Gregory-Martin are running unopposed. Neither do the incumbents.

Current members are Ginny Favede and Lou Gentile.

On the GOP side, incumbents Jim Carnes of St. Clairsville and LeeAnn Johnson of Marietta take on Shannon L. Walker of Pomeroy and Nichole Hunter of New Matamoras, respectively.

“The two maps – there was a Senate map and the House map – the Senate map, we remained the 30th Senate District, nothing changed. Regarding the House, there were three townships that moved from (96th to 95th district), so it was easy for us and our system to update this information on our voter registration system and our voter registration system. ‘administration’, said Moore.

The communities affected are the townships of Warren, Goshen and Smith.

“They just change representative districts in the state. Townships are already in Belmont County to begin with, but we had a split with House District.

According to the Ohio Secretary of State’s office, in-person early voting for the Aug. 2 primary begins July 6 and includes the Saturday, Sunday and Monday before Election Day. The deadline for registration is July 5.

The council will now continue preparations for the August elections. Chervenak said Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose issued guidelines and timelines.

“But there are still a lot of unknowns that we are still awaiting state guidance on, with everyone in the state of Ohio, not just Belmont County, 88 counties are affected by this,” said Chervenak.

Moore said the board plans to reduce the number of scrutineers needed for the August election, due to the relatively low number of races. There will be three people in a polling place, including one specifically for electronic poll books, allowing for a reduction from four to three poll workers, for a minimum total of 188 poll workers.

“We have started reaching out to election workers and we will continue to contact them all this week, and we will hopefully get some people scheduled and put in place. But, again, we are always looking for additional workers. We would like people to sign up,” said Moore.

He added that the council sends letters to elected officials who do not show up for any ballot.

“We ask anyone. We always want to have extra workers, to be ready,” said Moore. “We will put them in a training class and have them work with people who have worked in this area before. We never throw new workers there to do everything by themselves.

Moore said the council is still hoping for a high turnout, although turnout for the May primary was low, with just over 20% of registered voters taking part in the process.

“I hate to speculate how turnout is going to be, but given how weak the last one is, I think it will be light as well. It’s difficult when people need to be informed about it, as well as when it’s happening in the middle of summer,” said Moore.

The council will also hold a standard audit on June 6 at 11 a.m. This will involve a manual count covering 5% of the votes counted, or 400 ballots, to ensure that the manual count matches the tabulation system. The constituencies audited were randomly selected, including two in St. Clairsville, one in Flushing and one in Shadyside.

The next meeting will be June 21 at 4 p.m.

The council office is located at 52180 National Road, St. Clairsville. For more information, call 740-526-0188.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox